Best Rhetoric & Composition Books, Articles, and Experiences of 2012

It’s that time of year again! Inspired by the Crunk Feminist Collective‘s annual “Year of Crunkness,” I’d like to take a moment to share my favs of 2012.

  1. Ralph Cintron’s Angels’ Town. Though the book was published over a decade ago, it was the most inspiring read of 2012 for me. Most memorable moment from the text: How do we offer respect to those living under conditions of little to no respect?
  2. Transforming Places: Lessons from Appalachia. 2This newly published book was the first on my dissertation reading list. After all that crammed reading for courses and then for prelim exams, I sat down and cozied up with this book for the slowest, most patient, happy read I’ve experienced in two years. A powerful interdisciplinary gaze at activism in Appalachia.
  3. Thomas Rickert’s Cultural Studies course at Purdue University’s Rhetoric and Composition program. It was fate that my final coursework in RhetComp would be a weekly feast of cultural studies, from the Birmingham School to English punk rock, with my future diss. director. Favorite readings included: De Certeau’s The Practice of Everyday Life, Nealon’s Foucault Beyond Foucault, and Ingold’s Being Alive: Essays on Movement, Knowledge, and Description.
  4. Believe it or not, a grammar is on the list this year: Martha Kolln’s Rhetorical Grammar (new 7th edition out this year). This wasn’t necessarily a cozy, happy read, but it’s on the list because it was an absolutely essential read. For all the times I couldn’t explain exactly why a grammar rule worked the way it did… I should’ve read this book a long time ago.
  5. Don’t know how it didn’t end up on the list last year, but Internal Drive Technology Camp has to be the best summer experience for rhetcompers interested in game studies, digital literacies, and public rhetorics. I’ve had the great luck of directing and teaching at iD Tech’s Purdue campus during my grad school summers, and couldn’t recommend the experience more highly. If you love tech, kids, camp, fun, video games, and teaching, this is the perfect summer job. Watch the YouTube video I created two summers ago, and you’ll be a believer:

Happy New Year, Everybody!

About taylo206

I am an Assistant Professor of Composition, Rhetoric and Professional Writing at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Rhetoric & Composition Books, Articles, and Experiences of 2012

  1. Della says:

    Finally i quit my day job, now i earn decent money on-line you should try too, just type in google
    – blackhand roulette system

  2. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Spending some time and actual
    effort to produce a superb article… but what can I say… I put things off a lot and never manage to get
    nearly anything done.

  3. konig says:

    Pretty section of content. I simply stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to claim that I
    get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing on your augment or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to constantly quickly.

Leave a Reply

