Starting a New Semester

Tomorrow, I start a new semester–my second in the long haul of the PhD program.  I am very excited, but also a bit nervous about how I’ll handle the three seminars I just had to sign up for:  Archival Theory & Practice; Public Rhetorics; and Empirical Research Methods.  On top of that, I’ll be teaching my normal four hour course load and take a practicum course for teaching.  How will I balance this exciting, jam-packed schedule? Here are some commitments I hereby make to myself:

1.  I will use my morning hours wisely and with energy to complete readings.  More specifically, I will read from 8:00am to 10:00am every Mon, Wed, and Fri.

2.  I commit to writing (and working on my writing projects) from at least 11:30am to 1:30pm every Mon, Tues, and Thurs.

3.  I will spend more alone time on campus to foster a sense of comfort and security there.

4.  I will remind myself that I don’t have to do this.  It is my life choice.  And it is a beautiful one.

I feel that these are manageable goals to uphold.  I’ll use my blog as an accountability partner this week to record how it goes!

About taylo206

I am an Assistant Professor of Composition, Rhetoric and Professional Writing at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.
This entry was posted in Teaching Approaches, Writing Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Starting a New Semester

  1. J. H. Adams says:

    5. I will choose a specific space in which to do my work. No non-work activities will be undertaken in this space. I will thus create a Pavlovian response to this space wherein my work ethic automatically manifests upon entering it.

    6. I will continue to remain awesome.

  2. allison says:

    KT! Can I see the syllabus for the archive course? I’m archiving now, without ANY knowledge about archives. need to get up to speed by summertime… Would love to see what you’re reading.

Leave a Reply

