The First Day of Class

is always a little thrilling–both in the scary sense, and the excited sense.  Today, I met my Purdue ENGL 106 students, went over my syllabus, and assigned a short homework exercise for them.  On Wednesday, they’ll bring in their personal literacy narratives.  Many introductory comp. teachers try this exercise.  It encourages students to reflect on their literacy practices–either from childhood, studenthood, or early adulthood.  My students meet in a computer lab on Wednesdays, so I asked them to bring the project in a digital format.  Open form.

Most seemed excited about the “open form” concept.  I explained that they could write their narrative as a photo-essay, a powerpoint, a video, a traditional essay, or some other unique form.  One student asked if he could write it as a poem–an idea I thought was inspiring.  I asked him to include some narrative prose as well, to compliment the poem.  I’m excited to see what happens.

Here is the assignment prompt:  Literacy Narrative Assignment

About taylo206

I am an Assistant Professor of Composition, Rhetoric and Professional Writing at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.
This entry was posted in Teaching Approaches, Writing Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

